Here’s Spain Squad for FIH Hockey World cup 2023

For the 2023 FIH Men’s Hockey World Cup to be held in Odisha, India, the two-time finalist has announced the 18-player squad. The team is going in with a relatively young squad in terms of the number of caps but will look to put up a good fight. Igliasis Alvaro and Gonzalez Enrique will be the highest-capped players to represent Spain. The team will also carry two reserve players.

In the tournament opener, Spain will face India, while in Group D they will face England and Wales. Spain finished 13th overall in the 2018 edition and failed to advance to the knockouts. The team has won two of its four matches in the Men’s Pro League and lost two.

Spain Men’s Hockey World Cup Squad 2023

1. Adrian Rafi

2. Alejandaro Alonso

3. Alvaro Iglesias

4. Borja Lacalle

5. Cesar Curiel

6. Xavier Gispert

7. Enrique Gonzalez Castejon

8. Gerard Clapes

9. Ignacia Rodrigues

10. Joaquin Menini

11. Jordi Bonastre

12. Marc Miralles

13. Marc Reyne

14. Marc Vizcaino

15. Mario Garin

16. Pau Cunill

17. Pepe Cunill

18. Marc Recasens

As runners-up, Spain has reached the finals twice, in 1971 and 1998. The inaugural edition of the world cup was hosted in Barcelona, Spain and went on to reach the finals before losing to Pakistan. Spain lost to the dominant Netherlands in 1998, but won all other matches until the finals. It has been a while since the Spanish side achieved success, finishing third in the 2006 edition, and has since put in average performances in subsequent editions.

Leave a Comment